Mahak Jain stops Zeel Desai in semifinals

Image ALt

Mahak Jain stops Zeel Desai in semifinals

Two-time national women’s tennis champion, 17-year-old Mahak Jain took another purposeful step forward as she beat Zeel Desai 6-4, 2-6, 6-4 in the under-21 women’s semifinals of the Khelo India Youth Games at the Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex in Pune on Wednesday.

Playing with punch and determination, the diminutive Mahak overcame a 2-4 deficit in the first set, and bounced back from being down an early break in the decider to make the final.

Zeel who has slipped in rank in the international circuit, was a bit tentative and lacked the confidence even though she fought well in the decider.

In the final, top seed Mahak will be challenged by the former Asian junior champon Mihika Yadav.

In the men’s under-17 section, Aryaan Bhatia gave a lot to cheer for host Maharashtra as he pipped top seed Sushant Dabas in three sets on the centre court, which had recently hosted the ATP Maharashtra Open. In the final, he will play Dev Javia who beat fourth seed Krish Patel in the third set tie-break.

In the men’s under-21 event, the players on the professional circuit, Nitin Kumar Sinha and Manish Sureshkumar set up a semifinal. The other semifinal will be between Dhruv Sunish who beat top seed Ishaque Eqbal and Paramveer Singh Bajwa who recovered from the first set loss to beat Abhinav Sanjeev Shanmugam.

The results:
Under-21 (quarterfinals): Dhruv Sunish bt Ishaque Eqbal 6-4, 4-6, 6-3; Paramveer Singh Bajwa bt Abhinav Sanjeev Shanmugam 6-7(6), 7-5, 6-3; Manish Sureshkumar bt Sai Kartheek Ganta 6-1, 2-0 (retired); Nitin Kumar Sinha bt Faisal Qamar 6-1, 6-3.

Doubles (semifinals): Ishaque Eqbal & Nitin Kumar Sinha bt FardeenQamar & Faisal Qamar 6-1, 7-5; Armaan Bhatia & Dhruv Sunish bt Manish Sureshkumar & Abhinav Sanjeev Shanmugam 6-4, 7-5.

Under-17 (semifinals): Aryaan Bhatia bt Sushant Dabas 7-5, 3-6, 6-2; Dev Javia bt Krish Patel 4-6, 6-2, 7-6(1).

Doubles (quarterfinals): Sushant Dabas & Divesh Gahlot bt Boopathy Sakthivel & Anish Froilan 6-2, 6-3; Ajay Malik & Nitin Jaipal Singh bt Vansh Kapoor & Anmol Jain 6-2, 7-6(2); Aman Dahiya & Udit Gogoi bt Aryaan Bhatia & Sahil Tambat 6-4, 6-4; Krish Patel & Dev Javia w.o. Arnav Pathange & Nikhil Niranjan.


Under-21 (semifinals): Mahak Jain bt Zeel Desai 6-4, 2-6, 6-4; Mihika Yadav bt Kaavya Sawhney 6-3, 6-3.

Doubles (quarterfinals): Sai Dedeepya & Aditi Are bt Snehal Mane & Shristi Daas 6-4, 6-2; Vaidehi Chaudhari & Zeel Desai bt Kaavya Sawhney & Aashi Kapoor 6-1, 6-0; Shrivali Rashmikaa Bhamidipaty & Humera Shaik bt Dakshata Patel & Mihika Yadav 6-3, 6-4; Kaavya Balasubramanian & Sai Avanthika bt Pratibha Prasad & Pragati Prasad 6-0, 6-4.

Under-17 (quarterfinals): Gargi Pawar bt Anjali Rathi 6-2, 6-7(4), 6-3; Priyanshi Bhandari bt Vanshika Choudhari 6-2, 6-2; Prerna Vichare bt Sruthi Pandithurai 4-6, 6-3, 7-6(5); Laksmi Sai Reddy bt Sanjana Sirimalla 6-2, 2-6, 6-3.

Doubles (semifinals): Sai Bhoyar & Hrudaya Shah bt Sanjana Sirimalla & Sanskruti Damera 6-2, 2-6, 10-5; Prerna Vichare & Gargi Pawar bt Ishita Singh & Sanya Singh 6-2, 1-6, 10-8.

Back to Top

Contact Us

All India Tennis Associaton

RK Khanna Tennis Stadium,

Africa Avenue,

New Delhi - 110029.

+91 11 26176276 / 2617 6283-85 / 91 11 26176280
+91 11 2617 3159


Reach Us

  • Total Visitors: 7554521

Affiliated to

Thesis writing services from will deal with your thesis problem. Place your order and get the best dissertation writer Ireland who will help you to
LAST UPDATED ON : 17-Aug-2019 6:33 PM IST