ATT women's tennis in Delhi

Image ALt

ATT women's tennis in Delhi

Fourth seed Avika Sagwal has to be at her best in the opening match against Yubrani Banerjee in the $3000 Asian Tour tennis tournament to be played at the DLTA Complex from Wednesday.

The conduct of the tournament is itself a surprise, as the revival of WTA points had made the ITF tournaments more significant for the professional players.

However, in the absence of such ITF tournaments in the country, it is a welcome activity for the players of the calibre of Sai Samhitha, Vaidehi Chaudhari and the four-time national champion Prerna Bhambri, who have been given the top three seedings.

The results:

Qualifying singles (third and final round): Srinidhi Sridhar bt Sharanya Shetty 6-2, 6-3; SB Apoorva bt Pragathi Narayan Prasad 6-0, 6-3; Bela Tamhankar bt Deepshikha Saw 6-4, 6-1; Ananyaa Bhargava bt Anu Moar 6-2, 6-4.

Second round: Srinidhi Sridhar bt Nikita Bishnoi 6-3, 6-2; Sharanya Shetty bt Anaam Almas 6-3, 3-4 (conceded); SB Apoorva bt Garvita Dutta 6-0, 6-1; Pragathi Narayan Prasad w.o. Rupaktha Mukharjee; Deepshikha Saw bt Ritu Ohlyan 6-0, 6-1; Bela Tamhankar bt Shreya Panchal 6-2, 6-1; Ananyaa Bhargava bt Aashi Kapoor 6-0 6-1; Anu Moar bt Shanu Agarwal 7-5, 6-3.

First round: Srinidhi Sridhar bt Priyam Kumari 6-3, 6-2; SB Apoorva bt Rachita Talwar 6-0, 6-3; Pragathi Narayan Prasad bt Abilasha Mehra 6-2, 6-4; Ananyaa Bhargava bt Chetsi Bhatia 6-2, 6-0; Anu Moar bt Isshwari Matee 6-4, 3-6, 10-6.

The seedings: 1. Sai Samhitha, 2. Vaidehi Chaudhari, 3. Prerna Bhambri, 4. Avika Sagwal, 5. Sonashe Bhatnagar.

(Courtesy: The Hindu)

Follow Us

Back to Top

Contact Us

All India Tennis Associaton

RK Khanna Tennis Stadium,

Africa Avenue,

New Delhi - 110029.

+91 11 26176276 / 2617 6283-85 / 91 11 26176280
+91 11 2617 3159


Reach Us

Affiliated to

Thesis writing services from will deal with your thesis problem. Place your order and get the best dissertation writer Ireland who will help you to
LAST UPDATED ON : 21-Feb-2020 11:35 AM IST